Life After YAV… and what it looks like

This past Thursday I flew home to Matthews. I stayed up late with Corey and played video games, then went and got chicken biscuits at the Arboretum, like a usual summer day if it was right after a school year. But it wasn’t. It was a small break in my YAV year that showed me what it is going to be like when I’m out – if a YAV can ever say that they are truly out of the program. I went to Maryville on Friday and stayed through Saturday for orientation. College orientation… I thought it was never going to happen, and it flew by in less than 6 hours.

The students for our orientation date showed up, not all fully grasping that high school was over, and that they are all going to be on a new adventure. It was strange talking to them. They mostly had conversations about high school classes, their teachers, what they had done for summer break, or what they plan to major in. I realized that I was the same way before my YAV year, that high school was all that I had experienced and that the YAV year gave me life experience. I went through the motions… had lunch with my small group, registered for classes, got my college ID. It was all starting to look like the end of one chapter and the beginning of a new one in a new place.

It’s only about 7 more weeks. 7 more weeks and I will be heading home to get my things together and go to college. My classes are going to be intense. I’m a little nervous about it, but I know that if I want this bad enough, then I can do it. I am currently a Pre-Med: Biology major, who would graduate with a Bachelor of Science, potentially adding on a double major of International Studies. There were so many acronyms and numbers for the classes. I was stressing out and I’m not even going there yet. At the same time though, it excites me. 17 credit hours for my first semester: Math, English Composition, New Testament Biblical Studies, Biology, Biology Lab, First Year Seminars, Band, and Choir. No classes on Thursday, Bio Lab on Tuesday, everything else on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Intensity.

I’m excited for my classes. I’m excited to make new friends, to get the skills that I need for Med School, but at the same time the transition worries me a little bit. One of the advisers talked a lot about how difficult the transition between High School and College is. I wish she had mentioned the transition between a YAV year and college, because it freaks me out a little bit. I just have to remember the green card that my site coordinator, Kathy, gave me during the spring semester of my Senior year. It was a green card in a package with a New Orleans themed post card and a few books. The green card had a bible verse on it:

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.'”

-Jeremiah 29: 11-13.

I have kept that little sheet of paper in my wallet since I got it, and I know that the verse will remain true as I go throughout all of the new chapters of my life, and I know that God is going to be by my side through, not only my transition, but always.

7 weeks left, 7 weeks until this chapter is over and a new one begins. New Orleans… it’s about to get real

Peace,

Eric

Leave a comment

Filed under Eric L, Updates

Leave a Reply

