What’s Up in the Wetlands

This week has been full of training. From grouting to laminate to bamboo. We did bamboo today and it was my favorite of all of the flooring types. It went down well and it looks great. This week has been really great because I get to see a change in these houses, and it’s a change that I am causing.

There is that phrase from Mahatma Ghandi that says “be the change that you want to see in the world.” Well for the past few years I have wanted to see a change, but I haven’t had the means to do so. But now with the YAV Program, I do. I have seen a change in these houses, seen the smiles of homeowners who get to see that they are about to be living in a home that is their own. This work is so fantastic.

I come home each day and feel exhausted and also satisfied. I get to go out each day and use table saws and nail guns and see before my eyes a floor being made. The disappearance of concrete and a floor appearing is amazing, we go into a practically empty house and make a floor that people can build a life on, play with their children on, and after we clean it, possibly eat off of… I wouldn’t, but they can if they want.

The other thing that I really love about Project Homecoming is the people. I have made great friends through this program. We sweat together, bleed together, build together, and sweat some more together. We make jokes like “asbestos, more like tastesbestos.” And these people, despite our differences in age, are becoming my greatest friends because we all are serving for a year and we all want to give people homes to live in.

I sent a text the other day to one of my friends that said “this is where I’m meant to be.” The days are hard sometimes. It takes me a little while to wake up. Some days are difficult and long, but this is where I am meant to be. Our site coordinator mentioned last night that God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called. I may not be the most experienced person on our training days, but God is going to equip me to do what He has sent me down here to do. I miss my friends and my family, but this service is exactly what I need. It’s time for me to make a difference. It’s time for me to do the work, and maybe it’s time to change and grow in my faith and help this wonderful city of New Orleans to do the same.

Wish me luck in training tomorrow, more bamboo and then some framing in the afternoon.

-Eric

[Follow Eric’s blog to read more about the change he is making: http://cominghometoneworleans.blogspot.com/]

Eric introducing himself at the Presbytery welcome dinner

Leave a comment

Filed under Eric L, Updates

Leave a Reply

