Making new friends

Hi!!  I’m Tasha and I’m from a small city in Ohio named Bucyrus.  I’m a recent graduate of Bluffton University in Bluffton, Ohio and I have a BA in Business Administration.  I’ve come to New Orleans for a number of different reasons, but the biggest is probably because I don’t really have any direction in my life.  That may sound funny, but truth be told, I only have a degree at all because they made me declare one my sophomore year.

I have a number of different interests and could foresee myself in a number of different careers.  There are lots of things that I think I would be satisfied doing, but at this time in my life, I really want to spend some time figuring out what career God has in store for me.  I’m not sure if I’ll find that out here, but what better time than now, while I’m not tied down to any place or person or job or responsibility, to spend that time with God really exploring His will.

I’ve been in New Orleans since Tuesday, August 17th and have really gotten to bond with my roommates.  I live on the top floor of a duplex with two other girls who’ve been warm and welcoming and kind and funny.  They’ve made my experience thus far a really positive one. One of my biggest insecurities is whether or not I actually fit into a group–do they really like me or are they just being nice because they feel obligated?  Blame it on being one of those people who has always tried to please everyone else and all those kids who picked on me as a child.

Anyway, on our second(?) night in New Orleans, my two roommates and I were scrunched in the backseat of the YAV van and we were having just the best time laughing together at each other’s little hang ups and quirks.  Then it hit me:  they were my friends already. I can’t particularly remember any time in my life where I’ve just felt so comfortable with new people.  The first night we talked about things it took me months/years to be able to talk about with my friends from college.  There’s just something about my YAVs that brings me comfort.  I feel like I could divulge my deepest, darkest secrets to these people and would only be met with love and compassion and understanding.  While I’m sure we’ll have our disagreements and arguments at some point, I’m really enjoying the company of housemates Emma, Katie, Lauren, Maegan, and Evan.  Wait, strike that, my friends Emma, Katie, Lauren, Maegan, and Evan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

