Discernment, Trust and a few other thoughts

That’s me (Dan) in the blue shirt facing the camera, giving directions on leveling the floor at Eagle Street.

I am in New Orleans and I am content.  I am excited to get up each morning and meet my volunteers and work on Mrs. Lewis’ home.  Often, it is challenging, but I ask questions and keep moving.  I come home exhausted, but revitalized when I begin to cook a great dinner with my roommates.  This is often followed by finding something to entertain us for the evening.  Whether that is a card game, a movie, an art project, or some local music, it doesn’t really matter because we enjoy one another’s company, or at least I enjoy their company…

Clockwise from the green shirt: Gloria, Austin, Dan and Ben peeling fresh shrimp!

Left to right: Austin, Ben and Dan eating a home cooked meal!

You may be asking where I am going with this.

At this point last year, I had no idea I would be in New Orleans this year.  But through the Young Adult Volunteer program and with the support of friends and family, I am here now.  And it is a great fit for me!  I didn’t plan very far in advance to come here, but when the opportunity was presented, I took hold and I feel that God is using me and a lot of my strengths and my life experiences while I’m here.  I feel that this is where I am supposed to be now.

With that said, I am excited for what the future holds, trusting that it will be just as good and if not, it will be preparing me for a future opportunity!  So, over the next month or so while we (the Young Adult Volunteers) work through a discernment process, I trust that God will light the way and I am excited for the plans in store for the future, but still enjoying today.

This is CJ and his wife (the homeowners), my first group of volunteers and myself

-Dan

(Update: Dan is still in need of $4,175.00 to complete the fundraising necessary to support his year and the YAV program. If you or anyone you know would like to support Dan’s year of service, please let us know!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Updates

Leave a Reply

